The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Alliant International University    
 
    
 
  Oct 21, 2017
 
Catalog 2016-2017 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar


This is a systemwide academic calendar for all domestic campuses, except the Law School Academic Calendar .  Alliant’s 8-week long programs follow the Alliant 8-week Program Academic Calendar. The Mexico City campus follows the Alliant Mexico City Academic Calendar.  Please check campus calendars for campus-specific dates.
 

Fall Semester 2016

Aug. 1 Monday
  Last day to register for Fall Semester without paying a late fee.
   
Aug. 22 - 27 Monday - Saturday
  New student orientation (check online campus calendar for campus specific dates - www.alliant.edu). Attendance is mandatory for new students.
   
  Convocation Ceremonies
  Monday, August 22 - San Diego
  Tuesday, August 23 - Irvine/Los Angeles
  Wednesday, August 24 - Sacramento
  Thursday, August 25 - San Francisco
  Friday, August 26 - Fresno
   
Aug. 26 Friday
  Last day for payment of tuition and fees.
   
Aug. 29 Monday
  Instruction begins for Fall Semester [full-term (16-week) and session 1 (8-week) courses]*. 
   
Sept. 5 Monday
  Labor Day Holiday. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
Sept. 13 Tuesday
  Add/Drop Deadline for Fall Semester full-term courses. Last day to add or drop full-term course without late fee. Last day to drop a full-term course for 100% refund.*
   
Oct. 22 Saturday
  Alliant Makes A Difference Day
   
Oct. 23 Sunday
  Last day of Fall Semester Session 1 courses.
   
Oct. 24 Monday
  Instruction begins for Fall Semester Session 2 (8-week) courses.*
   
Oct. 30 Sunday
  Fall Semester 1 grades due to Registrar’s Office. Last day to withdraw from Fall Semester full-term courses.
   
Oct. 31 Monday
  Deadline to submit application for degree for students graduating in Fall 2016.  Fall Semester Session 1 grades available on-line.
   
Nov. 11 Friday
  Veterans Day Holiday. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
Nov. 24 - 25 Thursday-Friday
  Thanksgiving Holiday. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
Nov. 28 Monday
  Registration for Winter Intersession and Spring Semester begins.
   
Dec. 5 Monday
  Last day to register for Winter Intersession without paying a late fee.
   
Dec. 11 Sunday
  Last day of Fall Semester full-term courses.
   
Dec. 12 - 18 Monday - Sunday
  Final Examinations; make up classes (in case of holidays, etc.); semester end activities.
   
Dec. 18 Sunday
  Last day of Fall Semester Session 2 courses.
   
Dec. 23 - Jan. 2 Friday -  Monday
  Winter Holiday Break.  University offices closed.  University re-opens on Tuesday, January 3, 2017.
   
Jan. 6 Friday
  Last day to registrar for Spring Semester without paying a late fee.
   
Jan. 6 Friday
  Fall Semester full-term and Session 2 grades due to Registrar’s Office.
   
Jan. 7 Saturday
  Full Semester grades available on-line.
   


Winter Intersession 2017

Dec. 30 Friday
  Last day for payment of tuition and fees.
   
Jan. 3 Tuesday
  Instruction begins for Winter Intersession.*
   
Jan. 14 Saturday
  Last day to withdraw from Winter Intersession courses.
   
Jan. 16 Monday
  Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday observed. Classes do not meet.  University offices are closed.
   
Jan. 22 Sunday
  Last day of Winter Intersession classes.
   
Jan. 29 Friday
  Winter Intersession Grades due to Registrar’s Office.
   
Jan. 30 Friday
  Winter Intersession grades available on-line.


Spring Semester 2017
 

Jan. 17 - 20 Tuesday - Friday
  New student orientation (check online campus calendar for campus specific dates - www.alliant.edu). Attendance is mandatory for new students.
   
Jan. 20 Friday
  Last day for payment of tuition and fees.
   
Jan. 23 Monday
  Instruction begins for Spring Semester [full-term (16-week) and Session 1 (8-week) courses]*.
   
Jan. 27 Friday
  Deadline Graduation Applications due for Spring 2017 to Registrar’s Office. (Doctoral, Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees)
   
Feb. 6 Monday
  Add/Drop Deadline for Spring Semester full-term courses. Last day to add or drop full-term course without late fee. Last day to drop a full-term course for 100% refund.*
   
Feb. 20 Monday
  President’s Day Holiday. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
Mar. 19 Sunday
  Last day of Spring Semester Session 1 courses.
   
Mar. 20 - 26 Monday - Sunday
  Mid-Term Break.  Classes do not meet. 
   
Mar. 27 Monday
  Instruction begins for Spring Semester Session 2 (8-week) courses*.
   
Mar. 31 Friday
  Cesar Chavez Day Holiday observed. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
Apr. 2 Sunday
  Spring Semester Session 1 grades due to Registrar’s Office. Last day to withdraw from Spring Semester full-term courses.
   
Apr. 3 Monday
  Spring Semester Session 1 grades available on-line.
   
Apr. 24 Monday
  Registration for Summer Term and Fall Semester begins
   
May 5 Friday
  Last day for doctoral students to defend by in order to participate in commencement. Programs may have more stringent deadlines.
   
May 8 Monday
  Last day to register for Summer Term.
   
May 14 Sunday
  Last day of Spring Semester full-term courses.
   
May 15 - 21 Monday-Sunday
  Final Examinations; make up classes (in case of holidays, etc.); semester end activities.
   
May 21 Sunday
  Last day of Spring Semester Session 2 courses.
   
May 28 Sunday
  Spring semester full-term and Session 2 grades due to Registrar’s Office.
   
May 29 Monday
  Memorial Day Holiday. University offices are closed. Spring Semester grades available on-line.
   


Summer Term 2017
 

June 2 Friday
  Last day for payment of tuition and fees.
   
June 5 Monday
  Instruction begins for Summer Term [full-term (10-week) and Session 1 (5-week)].*
   
June 16 Friday
  Add/Drop Deadline for Summer Term full-term courses.
   
July 4 Tuesday
  Independence Day Holiday. Classes do not meet. University offices are closed.
   
July 9 Sunday
  Last day of Summer Term Session 1 courses.
   
July 10 Monday
  Instruction begins for Summer Term Session 2 (5-week) classes.*
   
July 16 Sunday
  Summer Term Session 1 grades due to Registrar’s Office. Last day to withdraw from a Summer Term full-term course.
   
July 17 Monday
  Summer Term Session 1 grades available on-line.
   
Aug. 13 Sunday
  Last day of Summer Term full-term and Session 2 courses.
   
Aug. 20 Sunday
  Summer Session full-term and Session 2 grades due to Registrar’s Office.
   
Aug. 21 Monday
  Summer Term grades available on-line.


Commencement Ceremonies
 

May 26, 2017 Friday
  San Diego and Irvine
   
June 2, 2017 Friday
  Fresno
   
June 3, 2017 Saturday
  Sacramento, San Francisco and San Francisco Law School
   
June 4, 2017 Sunday
  Los Angeles